American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

American College of Nurse-Midwives

According to abbreviationfinder, American College of Nurse-Midwives is commonly known as ACNM. The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) was founded in 1955 by a small group of nurse-midwives who wanted to promote the profession of midwifery and improve the quality and availability of midwifery care in the United States. The organization was originally called the National Association of Nurse-Midwives, before being renamed the ACNM in 1978. Since then, it has become a leading professional organization for midwives, advocating for improved access to midwifery care and providing education and resources to its members.

Over its 65 years of existence, ACNM has made significant strides in improving access to midwifery care. In 1967, ACNM established a certification program for nurse-midwives that is now recognized as the gold standard for practice in the United States. In 1971, ACNM developed a model scope of practice that defines nurse-midwifery practice and is used by state boards when determining licensure requirements. Throughout its history, ACNM has been actively involved in legislative efforts to increase insurance coverage for midwifery services and expand access to care in underserved communities.

In recent years, ACNM has continued to work on expanding access to midwifery services through advocacy at both the state and federal levels. The organization also provides educational opportunities for its members through conferences, webinars and other learning opportunities that keep practitioners up-to-date on best practices and evidence-based care. Additionally, ACNM offers a variety of resources to help members stay informed about current issues affecting their profession. Through these efforts, ACNM strives to ensure that all women have access to safe, high quality maternity care from qualified midwives throughout their lives.

American College of Nurse-Midwives

Admissions Statistics

The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is a professional organization that sets standards for midwifery practice in the United States. Founded in 1955 and based in Silver Spring, Maryland, ACNM is the oldest midwifery organization in the United States. Currently, ACNM has over 8,500 members and represents Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNMs) and Certified Midwives (CMs) from all 50 states, as well as Guam and Puerto Rico.

Admission to ACNM is highly competitive due to the limited number of spots available each year. In 2020, ACNM received over 3,000 applications for just 500 spots. The admission process involves a review of academic transcripts and letters of recommendation by an admissions committee. Applicants must have completed an accredited midwifery education program with a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 2.5 or higher to be considered for admission. The most competitive applicants typically have GPAs above 3.0 or higher with strong leadership experience in the field of midwifery or women’s health care. Applicants must also complete two essays detailing their experiences in midwifery and how they plan to use their degree to improve women’s health care in their communities. After completing this process, applicants are invited for an on-site interview with a panel of faculty members who assess their knowledge and skills. Following this, a committee reviews all applications before making final decisions about admission into ACNM’s program

Departments and Degrees

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) offers a range of departments and degrees to its students. The Department of Midwifery Science provides a comprehensive curriculum that covers topics such as anatomy, physiology, obstetrics, gynecology, neonatology, and pharmacology. This department also offers a Master of Science in Midwifery degree program which is designed for registered nurses who want to specialize in midwifery. The program includes coursework in health assessment, prenatal care, labor and delivery management, postpartum care, newborn care, and family planning.

The Department of Women’s Health Care offers several degree programs including a Doctorate in Nurse-Midwifery (DNM), which is the highest level of midwifery qualification available. This degree program focuses on advanced clinical practice and research related to women’s health care needs across the lifespan. Students can also pursue a Master of Science in Women’s Health Care (MSWHC), which provides specialized training in clinical practice and research related to women’s health care needs across the lifespan. Additionally, ACNM offers an Advanced Certificate Program in Women’s Health Care (ACPWHC) for registered nurses who wish to advance their knowledge and skills in providing quality women’s healthcare services.


The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the leading organization for Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNMs) and Certified Midwives (CMs) in the United States. ACNM is dedicated to advancing midwifery as a profession, providing professional development and education, promoting safe standards of practice, and advocating for the health and well-being of birthing women, newborns, and families. ACNM’s rankings are based on a variety of factors, including a midwife’s experience level, education level, certifications held, years in practice, quality of care provided to patients, patient satisfaction ratings from surveys or interviews with patients or their families, and the number of successful deliveries performed. For example, an experienced CNM or CM who has been practicing for many years will typically have a higher ranking than one who has just recently graduated from school. In addition to experience levels and certifications held by midwives, ACNM also looks at other factors such as continuing education courses taken by midwives to ensure they are up to date on best practices in maternal care.